The Administration Board

The Executive

Pierre Riley, PresidentPierre Riley
Pierre has many years of management experience in both the business and nonprofit sectors. After 21 years at Bell Canada, he spent nearly 16 years as Executive Director of the Fédération des centres d’action bénévole du Québec (FCABQ). Presently, he acts as a consultant for the development of volunteerism and is the coordinator of the “Centre des aînés de Pointe-Saint-Charles”.

Pierre’s community activities are numerous. He puts his managerial expertise and professional experience to the benefit of many organizations including the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, the Just for Laughs Museum, the CHU Sainte-Justine Foundation, United Way, the Youth Volunteer Program, and Citizen Advocacy Montreal. He has given lectures on volunteerism in the Netherlands and in France in addition to presenting a training session on volunteer management in Lebanon. He is currently secretary of the Board of ‘’la Société d’histoire de Pointe-Saint-Charles, vice-president of the Committee of retiring of community and women group and administrator of ’’Logis-Phare’’.

He was a member of Tel-Aide’s Board of Directors from 2003 to 2007 and served as our president from 2004 to 2007. Since October 2012, he came back as president of the Board of Directors of Tel-Aide.

Richard Harris,  Vice-President
Dik has always been involved in community activities, beginning withRichard Harris school and school-board activities. For several years he was a member of the Central Parents’ Committee of what was then the PSBGM. He is also a founding member and past-president of the St. Lawrence Choir (until recently, the amateur component of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra Chorus).

Professionally, Dik Harris has had a long career at McGill University where he is a professor emeritus of physics and an associate member of the Department of Integrated Studies in Education.

Dik has been a Tel-Aide volunteer since 1999. He was a member of the Board of Directors from 2001 to 2004, and is currently a member of the English Training Committee. He is also a supporter for new trainees.

Denise Charbonneau, secretary
After graduation, Denise enlists as a cooperative in the Canadian Denise CharbonneauUniversity Service Overseas with a stay of about two years at the National University of Rwanda (Central Africa), where she is responsible for the general office administration and the training of the office support staff. This experience will have a profound influence on the rest of her life and enhance her curiosity and desire to better understand the world surrounding her.

When she returns home, she first works in the travel field as press liaison and courier to groups going to Haiti, then in the documentary film sector as a production manager and assistant to production and research.

After ten years, she returns to school full time and specializes in translation and women’s history, after which she gets hired in Ottawa as editor in a federal agency for women’s rights. She sets up the translation service, for which she will have responsibility for 10 years. Back in Montreal in 1998, she becomes a self-employed translator and editor before joining a major translation firm as senior editor, also responsible for the supervision of new translators. In 2010, she retires to have the freedom to pursue her many interests: arts and literature, art therapy, psychology and philosophy, the study of the human condition.

Tel-Aide is one of the causes to which she wishes to actively contribute.

The Directors

Albert Girard
During his professional career, Albert Girard worked as an ExecutiveAlbert copy Producer and Coordinator of television programs with Radio-Canada. Among others, he has to his credit the following well-known shows: Marylin, 4 et demi, Bouscotte and Fred-Dy.

For ten (10) years, he also served as union representative for the Association des réalisateurs de Radio-Canada.

Albert has also been actively involved with three (3) organizations by serving as a Director on the Board of Directors of Campaction, Jeunesse 2000 and the Caisse populaire Desjardins de la Maison de Radio-Canada.

Albert has been a listener with Tel-Aide for over ten (10) years. He has also been a supporter and a trainer of new listeners for seven (7) years. For two (2) years, he was the head of the French training committee.

Rosalind Arkell
Rosalind grew up in England. She lived in the Laurentians for 25 years,Rosalind Arkell before moving to Montreal.

While living in the Laurentians, she held administrative positions mostly in the tourism industry. She also spent five years working for an intervention centre for addictions. In Montreal, she worked in various CLSCs, as well as with the Douglas Hospital, where she learned to better understand and appreciate the work of health professionals and social workers.

A happy grandmother, she has been a volunteer listener with Tel-Aide for over two years and recently became a supporter for new listeners.

Rosalind joined the Board of Directors because she wants contribute to the advancement of Tel-Aide. She believes its essential services offer a quiet and confidential place where people can turn to with their problems in the fast and noisy world we live in.